Recorded Saturday 17 - Sunday 18 October 2015

Transformation Marathon


Celebrating the tenth anniversary of the Serpentine Marathon series, this year’s Transformation Marathon invites artists, sociologists, anthropologists, writers, musicians, architects, scientists and philosophers to address cultural, political and physical shifts. The Transformation Marathon invokes the hidden knowledge of magic and alchemy. It investigates the strategies of cyborgs, magicians, parasites and storytellers to consider how to represent and effect change in the face of complexity. How can the arts and sciences reimagine aesthetics and politics? How are these individual and collective actions reflective of a precarious landscape? This year’s Marathon also addresses the history and transformation of the art institution, with a series of interventions devised by Tino Sehgal and Dorothea von Hantelmann.

Returning to the 24-hour format of the inaugural Interview Marathon in 2006, the Transformation Marathon takes place at the Serpentine Sackler Gallery on Saturday, October 17 from 10am to 10pm and continues from midnight until noon on Sunday, October 18 on the first-ever Serpentine Radio broadcast and presented in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut, London.

The Transformation Marathon is curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist, Co-Director, Exhibitions and Programmes and Director of International Projects; Lucia Pietroiusti, Curator, Public Programmes; Ben Vickers, Curator of Digital and Claude Adjil, Assistant Curator. Curatorial Assistants: Chris Bayley, Taylor Le Melle, Sophie Oxenbridge, Cory Scozzari and Nefeli Skarmea. designed by Folder; Marco Ferrari, Elisa Pasqual, Alessandro Busi, Michela Di Cristina, Aaron Gillett and Alice Longo, developed by Kei Kreutler.

The Serpentine Marathon series was conceived by Co-Director Hans Ulrich Obrist in 2006 and is deeply intertwined with the annual Serpentine Pavilion commission, launched by Director Julia Peyton-Jones in 2000.

Participants include Jumana Manna, Haunted Machines, Jalal Toufic, Jude Crilly, Helen Benigson, Disobedient Films, Jamie Perera, Julieta Aranda, Bill Kouligas, Deep Lab, Nil Mutluer, Ayşe Gül Altınay, Steven Warwick Heatsick,Rachel Rose, Alexandra Kleeman, Julia Tcharfas, Holly White, Lorenzo Senni,Judy Chicago, William Pope L ., Rosi Braidotti, Mica Sigourney, CAConrad, Time is Away, Mark Waldron, Lucy Mercer, Liz Berry, Ken Cockburn, Francine Elena,Alec Finlay, Harry Gilonis, Declan Ryan, Anthony Arthur Long, Federico Campagna, Peter Adamson, Charles Hope, Patrick Mudekereza, Nick Bostrom,Aram Saroyan, John Densmore, Koki Tanaka, Helen Hester, Katherine Angel,Jaakko Pallasvuo, Roy Boswell, Tim Etchells, Candice Lin, Gil Leung, Samson Kambalu